Brennan Johnson starts for Tottenham against Arsenal, with Veliz on the bench.

Ange Postecoglou’s Tottenham Hotspur team for his first ever North London Derby, as he’s made one important decision.

LONDON, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 16: Tottenham's Brennan Johnson during the Premier League match between Tottenham Hotspur and Sheffield United at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on September 16, 2023 in London, England. (Photo by Stephanie Meek - CameraSport via Getty Images)

Brennan Johnson handed his first start for Tottenham HotspurAnge Postecoglou named his first starting XI for the North London Derby and handed Brennan Johnson his first start for Tottenham Hotspur.

It’san important game for both Nottingham Forest’s new £47.5 million signing and the Australian head coach as he heads to the noise of the derby at the Emirates Stadium.

It will be a big test of the early positive work Postecoglou did with his young Tottenham side in the match against Mikel Arteta’s title contenders.

Richarl is on may have thought he would get the nod after his goal and assist against Sheffield United, but it was Johnson that Postecoglou turned to, presumably with his pace in an attempt to trouble the Arsenal backline .

Johnson plays on the left, Dejan Kulusevski takes his place on the right after his winning goal last weekend.

Captain Son Heung-min plays in midfield against Arsenal’s defense.

At the back, Postecoglou sticks with his back four of Pedro Porro, Cristian Romero, Micky van de Ven and Destiny Udogie, who must deal with the attacking threat of Bukayo Saka.

The midfield remains the trio Pape Matar Sarr, Yves Bissouma and James Maddison for a big battle in the middle of the pitch at the Emirates Stadium.

Young summer recruit Alejo Veliz gets a place on the bench. Giovani Lo Celso, Bryan Gil, Ryan Sessegnon and Rodrigo Bentancur are still unavailable for selection.

Here is the Spurs team selected by Ange Postecoglou:Vicar; Porro, Romero, Van de Ven, Udogie; Sarr, Bissouma, Maddison; Kulusevski, Jr., Johnson.

Substitutes: Forster, Emerson, Davies, Dier, Hojbjerg, Skipp, Solomon, Richarlison, Veliz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *